top of page

Emily’s New Top Ten


Hi guys!! Over time, my top ten books have drastically changed, so just so you can keep up, here are my new top ten, plus a surprise extra that actually comes roundabout 4th or 5th, but I’ve put it at the end, because it’s neater. 

1. The Inheritance Cycle

2. The Wizards Of Once Series

3. Nevermoor Series

4. The Companions Quartet

5. The Dreamsnatcher Trilogy

6. Starfell (1st book)

7. Dragon Daughter (1st book)

8. Magyk (1st book)

9. Sky Song

10. Maximum Ride (1st book)

11. Surprise Extra!!

Below is a bit about each book:


 

The Inheritance Cycle


If anyone asked me what my favourite books were, I’d be lying if I didn’t say Eragon. It’s not only the incredible, out of this world story plot, it’s also just the pure talent of the author, Christopher Paolini. Without them, I don’t know where I’d be. Eragon, along with The Wizards of Once and Nevermoor, (read more about them later) are probably the only books I’ve ever read that truly have that ability to fully, completely, utterly and absolutely transport you to another world, (and trust me, I’ve read a lot of books!) and trust me, you haven’t tasted true literature until you’ve read these books. Click here to see my earlier review.


 

The Wizards Of Once

Look. I’m ordering you to read these books. In my opinion, every good book has a special talent, and these books’ talent, and, indeed, the author’s talent, is that they stick in your head long after you’ve read them, so you can’t stop thinking about them. Indeed, the thought of these books, reading these books, and wondering what will come in the next book are the thoughts and things that I fall asleep to every night, wake up to every morning and are what get me through the day. Xar, (Pronounced Zar,) Wish and Bodkin are my absolute heroes, and I live for their adventures and relive them again and again, every single day. You have to read these books!!! Click here to see my earlier review.


 

Nevermoor + Wundersmith

I am eternally grateful to my awesome friend Amelia for introducing me to these awesome books. They truly are incredible. There are two of them, and I cannot wait for the third one!!!!!!!!!!! They have won all sorts of incredible prizes, which show how good they are!!!!!! These books truly are incredible. They must be, to be right up there in my top ten, because it takes a lot to get in them, as I have read a lot of books. Another mark of how good they are is that, while it took me a loooooong time to work out most of my top ten, this was on there immediately. I can’t express how awesome they are in words. You’ll have to read them to find out. Click here to see my earlier review.

 

The Companions Quartet

These are books singled out specially for animal lovers. They’re about a massive secret, (but it says it on the blurb, so I’m allowed to tell you, it’s just a secret from all the people in the book) and the secret is that mythical animals do exist. They’re like awesomely upgraded animals, (e.g. Horse = Unicorn and Pegasus), but as people would hunt them down, they’re protected by this awesome society, made up of those special few who have bonds with the mythical animals. In the series, they have to protect the magical animals from an evil shapeshifter called Kullervo without the rest of the world finding out. These books are 100% awesomeness. If you’re an animal lover, these books are for you.

 

The Dreamsnatcher

These books, full of magic and mystery are such awesome books that I read all 3 of them in one go. Moll was raised a gypsy, but has no memory of her parents, and begins to get even more and more unsure of her past as she starts to question the strange prophecies, myths and legends surrounding her and her strange friendship with the wildcat, Gryff, and even starts to wonder if any of the things she’s been told about her past are true. As she goes on a quest to uncover the truth about her past, she finds herself with a major role to play in something bigger than she ever imagined.

 

Starfell (1st book)

The reason I like Starfell so much is that it is an extremely funny book. It has a sensible storyline, but it has so many humorous bits in it that it made me laugh out loud. In the world of Starfell, some people are magic!! But Willow Moss can’t blow things up, or move things with her mind like her sisters. She finds lost things, like socks and keys, so imagine her surprise when the most feared witch in Starfell comes looking for her!! Tuesday has gone missing, and Willow, along with the most terrifying witch in Starfell and the Monster From Under The Bed, must go to floating mountains, plants that tell secrets, dragons, troll country, her mother (oh no!) and even Wolkana, the dreaded fortress of the brothers of Wol, (they’re trouble!) to find it again. This book is sooo incredible!! I can’t wait to read the 2nd one!!

 

Dragon Daughter

Dragon Daughter is really an incredible book! Forgotten truths must be uncovered and all the legends surrounding the isle of Arcosi must be made sense of to prevent Evil Duke Olvar from becoming a Dragon Rider. Can servant girl Milla, who was found on the streets as a baby, the Lady Tarya, her brother Isak, and Olvar’s son, Vigo, all newly dragon bonded, and their newly hatched dragons, save the city, and the dragons, from the clutch of Olvar, and prevent the dragons from being lost forever!?!?!?!? And after all that, can Milla face the truth about who she really is?...


Click here to see my earlier review.


 

Magyk

Magyk, as its name suggests, is a book about Magyk. The 7th son of a 7th son is thought by his family to have died, and the powerful necromancer who killed the queen believes he has this boy for an apprentice. The truth is, the boy himself doesn’t know who he is, yet only he can force this evil back and restore peace to the now chaotic world. I love this book!!! It’s so full of twists and turns that it’s impossible to guess what happens next!! Angie Sage truly has talent to write a book as good as this. It’s unbelievably, undeniably, un-put-downably awesome!!

 

Sky Song

In the Enchanted Kingdom of Erkenwald, the Sky Gods look down and gift the people with magic, and all is well, until the youngest star, jealous of the power the North Star (the main God) holds, comes down to Erkenwald and turns one of the three tribes against the other two. Because of this, the Snow Queen (the star) steals away all the adults of the tribes. Angry at the betrayal, the children of the tribes lose faith in the Sky Gods and the magic of Erkenwald – all but two. Eska, a child marked by the Sky Gods, but with no memories, and Flint, an inventor must unite the tribes and defeat the Snow Queen once and for all. Can they do it?... This book has so much suspense in it that once I was done, I realised I’d been holding my breath throughout practically the entire book. This book is so awesome!!!

 

Maximum Ride (1st Book)

Max and her friends are just kids. Just ordinary kids. Except for one thing. Well, a few things, actually. They’re only 98% human. They have no parents. They were probably born in a test tube (but they don’t know) and they have wings, (and extra-large appetites) and they can fly. Yes, they’re 2% bird, and they’re on the run from the scientists who treat them like dumb animals, and the super–scary Erasers – part human, part wolf. These guys are the Flock’s natural predators, and they work for the scientists. (The flock are what Max and her friends call themselves) Max can’t let them catch up to her flock, but there’s nowhere to run, (or fly). Where can they hide from a world that wants them locked up?

 

Surprise Extra!!

This isn’t a proper review – I’m just saying this because I have to: I’m ordering you to read Lord of the Rings. You have to. Every single letter of all the books is incredible, and the elves are especially awesome. I’m sure you will have heard of them, so I’m not going to tell you anything else about them. You’ll have to read them yourselves to find out, but these books are so packed full of awesomeness it makes me want to scream!!!!!!



93 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page